Basics of getting fit

If you smoke, quit. This is more important than your fitness goals. Enlist your physician (MD, and DO in the US) to help.

See your physician before starting your diet and exercise program, for clearance and advice. Make sure you are caught up with recommended preventative measures, and that you are compliant with taking your medications as prescribed.

If you drink alcohol, drink only in moderation, meaning one serving for women, and up to two for men. If you have a problem with overindulgence or addiction to any substance, get help, starting by talking to your physician. You may want to stop drinking while you have weight to lose, since it adds calories.

Eat breakfast. Eating breakfast improves your performance in mental tasks during the day, when you are likely to be working.  People who eat breakfast tend to eat less during the day, and lose more weight than those who don’t.

Consider trying to have a source of protein with every meal, it may make you less hungry afterwards.

Try eating three meals a day with no snacks in between. It goes against the latest six small meal a day fad, but it is our traditional cultural pattern. You get to have three decent meals, rather than several micro-feedings during that day. If you find that you get ravenous at some point during the day, or that you can’t make it through a workout, a snack may be warranted.

Watch out for calorie bombs, which may be different for everyone. Sodas with sugar or HFCS, fruit juices or drinks, cakes, pies, cookies, ice cream, other deserts, chips, crackers, popcorn, donuts, muffins, bagels, big bowls of pasta, fast food meals, Chinese take out, pizza. They either have too many calories, or you might tend to eat more of them than reasonable.

Avoid calorie poisoning, also known as over-nutrition, which is taking in more energy than you burn. You can do this with three traditional meals containing reasonable portions, combined with a moderate exercise program.

Get some exercise, meaning resistance training and stretching at least twice per week, and some moderate physical activity for 30-90 minutes at least five days per week. Vigorous cardio for at least 20 minutes three times per week can be substituted for the moderate physical activity.

Be accountable, somehow, to someone. Measure and track what you are doing, along with your progress. It will be a slow journey, and you will make mistakes. But if you look at what you are doing, you have the opportunity to change and improve. Consider starting a blog like this one, and if you do, please send me your link!

12 Responses to Basics of getting fit

  1. Ron says:

    I think that being accountable is one of the things that has made me work harder and actually keep on my fitness regimen. I’ve always started and stopped, started and stopped, but when I had people start asking me if I’m losing weight in clothes, and friends who check in on my progress, that made all the difference.

  2. theoryofben says:

    Absolutely…accountability is huge. When I started my blog I sent the address to my friends and family. Knowing they will be checking up on me has helped me make better decisions at times I wanted to blow it.

  3. Ron says:

    I’m still actually afraid to share my weight loss blog with anyone I know, just in case I slip up. Then again, I’ve been afraid I’m going to slip up for, oh, 3 months now.

  4. Joe Average says:

    @Ron: You are human, I take it? We all slip up. If you never slip up I’ll come over to your house and pour sugar in your gas tank out of spite. *grin*

    I was afraid of talking openly about what was going on, then started blogging for my mastermind group. I don’t know if my Get the Hell Out of Hell post would be of any interest.

    Come out and blog. I’ve been having a ball interacting with all the other great people out there. These other people have been almost like a support group. Also, when we all can peek we can cheer you on. When you fall on your face, we’ll be there to help pick you up. After all, we’ve been through it, too.

    Anyhow, that’s my two bits, at least.

    @slowfit: Thanks for the article. It’s useful advice, IMHO.

  5. This piece of writing will help the internet users for building up new website
    or even a blog from start to end.

  6. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that
    he should also pay a visit this webpage on regular basis to get updated from
    most up-to-date news.

  7. Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely feel this website needs a
    lot more attention. I’ll probably be returning
    to read through more, thanks for the advice!

  8. Vera says:

    Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be
    on the web the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed
    while people think about worries that they plainly
    don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as
    well as defined out the whole thing without having
    side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

  9. help Burn says:

    Magnificent site. Lots of helpful info here. I am sending it to several friends ans also sharing in delicious.
    And naturally, thanks in your sweat!

  10. Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice at the same time as you amend your website,
    how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a appropriate deal.

    I have been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast
    provided bright clear idea

  11. Iklan Baris says:

    Iklan Baris

    Basics of getting fit | Slowfit

  12. Store.Bio.Org

    Basics of getting fit | Slowfit

Leave a Reply

